Understanding Your Vendor’s Supply Chain Is Key to a Green IT Strategy

from greenercomputing.com

by Deborah Grove

Usually I confine my comments about Green IT to the energy efficiency measures for data centers, as well as the IT reach within an organization out to the laptops. But today I’m diverging from my usual topic of interest to discuss what I learned from a recent meeting with Bonnie Nixon Gardiner, HP’s Program Manager for Supply Chain Social and Environmental Responsibility.

I first met Bonnie briefly at the Sustainability and Supply Chain Management Conference at Stanford earlier this year, where she was introduced to me as the woman who made possible the Electronic Industry Code of Conduct (EICC). This groundbreaking new coalition is working to bring transparency to the electronics manufacturing process in Asia by making public and accountable every transaction, supplier and parter in the supply chain.

Leave a Reply

